Ministry of the Environment

Environmental Assessment and Approvals Branch

2 St. Clair Avenue West Floor 12A Toronto ON M4V 1L5 Tel.: 416 314-8001 Fax: 416 314-8452

November 23, 2010

Ministère de l'Environnement

Direction des évaluations et des autorisations environnementales

2, avenue St. Clair Ouest Étage 12A Toronto ON M4V 1L5 Tél. : 416 314-8001 Téléc. : 416 314-8452



MOE File #: WC-10-WF-0079

Ms. Nicole Geneau Nextera Energy Canada, ULC 5500 North Service Road, Suite 205 Burlington ON L7L 6W6

Dear Ms. Geneau:

<u>RE</u>: Director's Aboriginal Communities List - Conestogo Wind Farm Project

The Ontario Ministry of the Environment (Ministry) has reviewed the information provided in the *Draft of the Project Description Report* (PDR) received for the *Conestogo Wind Farm Project*. The Ministry has reviewed the anticipated environmental effects of the project (as described in the PDR) relative to its current understanding of the interests of aboriginal communities in the area.

In accordance with section 14 of Ontario Regulation 359/09 "Renewable Energy Approvals under Part V.0.1 of the Act" (O. Reg. 359/09) made under the *Environmental Protection Act*, please find below the list of aboriginal communities who, in the opinion of the Director:

i) have or may have constitutionally protected aboriginal or treaty rights that may be adversely impacted by the project (s.14(b)(i)):

Aboriginal Community Common Name: Reserve Name: Contact Information: Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation New Credit (Part) 40A RR 6 Hagersville ON N0A 1H0 Phone (905) 768-1133 Fax (905) 768-1225 Six Nations of the Grand River Six Nations (Part) 40

PO Box 5000 Ohsweken ON N0A 1M0 Phone (519) 445-2201 Fax (519) 445-4208

- 2 -

.

.

.

.

•

1.15

.

.

.

.

Six Nations of the Grand River Haudenosaunee **Confederacy Council** RR2 Oshwken ON N0A 1M0 Phone (519) 755-2769 Saugeen Ojibway Nation (Chippewas of Nawash, Saugeen First Nation) Saugeen Ojibway Nation Environment Office **RR** 5 Wiarton ON N0H 2T0 Phone (519)534-5507 Fax (519)534-5525 Saugeen First Nation Chief Randall Kahgee **RR 1** Southhampton ON N0H 2L0 Phone (519) 797-2781 Fax (519) 797-2978 Chippewas of Nawash **Unceded First Nation** Chief Ralph Akiwenzie 125 Lakachara Rivd

135 Lakesnore Blvd.
RR 5
Wiarton ON N0H 2T0
Phone (519) 534-1689
Fax (519) 534-2130
Oneida Nation of the
Thames
Oneida 41
RR 2
Southwold ON N0L 2G0
Phone (519) 652-3244
Fax (519) 652-9287

.

OR

ii) otherwise may be interested in any negative environmental effects of the project (s.14(b)(ii)):

- 3 -

Grand River Métis Council Barbara Rusk, President 76 Buttonwood Drive Kitchener ON N2M 4R1

Métis Nation of Ontario Consultation Unit 500 Old St. Patrick St, Unit 3 Ottawa ON K1N 9G4

NOTE: None of the foregoing should be taken to imply approval of this project or the contents of the PDR. This letter only addresses the requirement of the Director to provide a list of aboriginal commuties to you as required pursuant to section 14 of O. Reg. 359/09. You should also be aware that information upon which the above list of aboriginal communities is based is subject to change. Aborginal communities can make assertions at any time, and other developments, for example the discovery of Aboriginal archaeological resources, can occur that may require additional aboriginal communities to be notified. Should this happen, the Ministry will contact you. Similarly, if you recieve any feedback from any aboriginal communities not included in this list, as part of your consultation, the Ministry would appreciate being notified.

Please contact Narren Santos at (416) 314-8442 should you have any questions or require

additional information.



- Doris Dumais Director – Approvals Program Environmental Assessment and Approvals Branch
- cc: Mansoor Mahmood, Renewable Energy Team, Ministry of the Environment Joe de Laronde, Aboriginal Affairs Branch, Ministry of the Environment